5 Things I’ve Learnt Since Becoming a Mom

There are going to be many things I will learn over the course of my child’s life but here are the 5 that I have realised so far!

1.You learn to do more things you could have imagined with one hand. I realised this pretty early when I was having to stay in hospital with my son for an extra week, regularly changing cot sheets with one hand and baby in the other after he’d thrown up, poo’d or wee’d on them!!

2.Belvita biscuits have become my life. I now understand why people said they didn’t have much time to eat. My little boy used to sleep for about 4 and a half hours at a time when he was first born (which is pretty damn good!) but now hates being in his basket and gets really whingey and likes to be held. This has led me to trying to eat my breakfast (aka Belvita biscuits as they’re fast and easy) whilst I am feeding him his bottle, which also means balancing the bottle in his mouth with my chin whilst I shove the biscuit in my mouth!

3.SO MUCH WASHING. I have never done so much washing in one week in my life! I was well aware that babies are sick and make a mess etc but I thought that was more when they were a bit older. I do washing for the three of us pretty much every other day now when before it was about once a week.

4.I definitely miss the sleep. Everybody says it, everybody warns you but you don’t actually realise until the time. Broken sleep will leave you pretty exhausted, there are times (not loads) where you will have a meltdown and say you can’t do it which is why I totally take my hat off to single parents! I don’t know what I would have done without my boyfriend being able to do the 8am feed so that I could get some well needed rest. Don’t get me wrong, every time I hear that cry in the middle of a lovely sleep I do throw the covers off and let out a ‘UGH’ and all I want to do is turn over and go back to sleep but as soon as I get up and see that bright eyed little face staring up at me it all melts away. This little gorgeous monster loves me and needs me and it’s totally worth it.

5.I’ve never talked about poo this much. How many poo’s he’s had in one day, what type of poo it was. Getting worried that he hasn’t poo’d in 2 days and texting the boyfriend saying ‘HE’S FINALLY DONE A POO!!’ (Oh the romance 😉 ) Eating a Korma and having to wait till you’ve finished eating before you change the nappy because he’s done a poo. Poo, poo, poo, poo and more poo.

These all seem like negative things but whilst all this is happening you will more than likely have a special moment (or a few) where you stare at your beautiful baby and cannot comprehend how it is possible to love someone so much and that is an amazing feeling.

Thank you for reading!

5 thoughts on “5 Things I’ve Learnt Since Becoming a Mom

Leave a Reply

